Betts, Pedroia honored for glove work

Mookie named Defensive Player of the Year; teammate top 2B

Betts, Pedroia honored for glove work

BOSTON -- The awards continue to roll in for Mookie Betts and the Red Sox.

Betts, Boston's star right fielder, was named the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year for the Major Leagues on Friday.

The announcement was made during a special on MLB Network.

It was quite an honor for Betts, who was drafted as a middle infielder by the Red Sox in 2011 before making the transition to the outfield in 2014 and turning into a brilliant defender -- first in center, and now in right.

Betts was also named as the right fielder for the Wilson Awards Team. There is one winner from the Major Leagues at each position.

Wilson Award Winner: Betts, RF

He has some familiar company on the squad. Dustin Pedroia earned the Wilson Award as the top second baseman in the game.

Wilson, the official glove of Major League Baseball, has handed out the Defensive Player of the Year Awards at the conclusion of each season since 2012. The winners are determined using a formula that combines traditional defensive stats with advanced metrics, as well as the data logged by the baseball experts working for the scouting service Inside Edge.

Betts led the Majors with 32 Defensive Runs Saved and had 14 assists while starting four double plays. At 24, he is the youngest player to win Wilson's Defensive Player of the Year.

Defensive Player: Pedroia, 2B

After battling some leg ailments in 2015, Pedroia had a dramatic resurgence on defense for the Red Sox in '16.

The second baseman had a 12.5 UZR, easily the best in the American League. He was also credited with 12 Defensive Runs Saved, tied with Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner Ian Kinsler for first in the AL. Pedroia had a .990 fielding percentage, making just six errors.

The Red Sox are in the running for some more hardware next week. Rick Porcello is one of three finalists for the AL Cy Young Award, which will be announced Wednesday. Betts is one of the finalists for AL MVP, which will be unveiled Thursday.

Esurance MLB Awards week concludes Friday on MLB Network and at 8 p.m. ET with the MLB Awards. Categories include Best Major Leaguer, Hitter, Pitcher, Rookie and Manager, and recognize overall MLB winners with no league distinction.

Ian Browne has covered the Red Sox for since 2002. Follow him on Twitter @IanMBrowne and Facebook. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.