Now Commenting On:

RI Red Sox Scholarship recipients to be introduced at Fenway Park today


The Boston Red Sox will introduce the 20 recipients of the Rhode Island Red Sox Scholarship program during a pre-game ceremony at Fenway Park before the Red Sox-Toronto game today, Saturday, May 11. The program awards students from 20 public high schools across Rhode Island with $1,000 scholarships towards their college education.

This year's scholarship program, which was introduced in 2012 by Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee and Red Sox Principal Owner John W. Henry and his wife Linda Pizzuti Henry, has been expanded from 10 qualifying Rhode Island public schools in its inaugural year to 20 in 2013. One student from each of the 20 high schools is chosen for the award based on academic performance, financial aid eligibility, and most importantly, demonstrated community service.

"We are pleased that this year we will be recognizing even more deserving Rhode Island students with the expansion of the scholarship program," said Linda Pizzuti Henry. "These 20 college-bound students have not only demonstrated their excellence in the classroom, they have also done so in the community. We look forward to honoring them for their achievements, and for the example they set for others with their service in their communities."

This year's Rhode Island Red Sox Scholarship Award recipients include:

  1. Titilope Bankole, Hope High School
  2. Harriette Beah, Mt. Pleasant High School
  3. Derek Bell, Woonsocket High School
  4. Gabrielle English, Portsmouth High School
  5. Victoria Ferraro, Chariho Regional High School
  6. Brianna Florio, Pilgrim High School
  7. Jessica Fournier, North Kingstown High School
  8. Lindsay Gagne, Coventry High School
  9. John Hindley, Smithfield High School
  10. Katherine Mitchell, Rogers High School
  11. Isabel Newton, East Providence High School
  12. Adriana Pagano, Cranston High School East
  13. Rachel Pimentel, Tiverton High School
  14. Bryan Quinlan, Charles E. Shea High School
  15. Lindsay Ratcliffe, Cranston High School West
  16. Bethanie Royality-Lindman, South Kingstown High School
  17. Lesdin Salazar, Central Falls High School
  18. Jameel Sylvia, Mt. Hope High School
  19. Nisa Villareal, Johnston Senior High School
  20. Monique Walmsley, Westerly High School

In addition to celebrating the accomplishments of the 20 Rhode Island scholarship recipients, the Red Sox will also celebrate the Ocean State during Saturday's game, which has been designated Rhode Island Day at Fenway Park

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español