New Hampshire Red Sox Scholarship Recipients to be introduced at Fenway Park

Before Sunday's game at Fenway Park against the Cleveland Indians, the Boston Red Sox will introduce the 35 recipients of the 2013 New Hampshire Red Sox Scholarship program. The Red Sox Foundation-funded program is now in its fourth year and awards college-bound seniors from 35 public high schools across New Hampshire with $1,000 scholarships towards their college education. One graduating senior from each of the 35 high schools is chosen based on academic performance, financial aid eligibility, and demonstrated community service.

The scholarship program was introduced in 2010 by then-New Hampshire Governor John Lynch and Red Sox Principal Owner John W. Henry and wife Linda Pizzuti Henry. The program has since been expanded from 10 qualifying New Hampshire public schools in its inaugural year, to 35 in 2012.

"We look forward to honoring the 35 recipients of the New Hampshire Scholarship program on Sunday," said Red Sox Foundation Board Member Linda Pizzuti Henry. "These 35 Granite State students have not only demonstrated their academic excellence in the classroom, they have also shown their commitment to community service. We hope they will continue to set an example and inspire others as they pursue their college education."

On the field to honor the students on Sunday will be New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan and Red Sox Foundation Interim Executive Director Gena Borson.

This year's 35 New Hampshire Red Sox Scholarship recipients include:

  1. Joseph Alexander, Concord High School
  2. Rachel Avard, Manchester High School West
  3. Jasmine Blais, Laconia High School
  4. Hannah Bush, Monadnock Regional High School
  5. Tessa Chapman, Dover High School
  6. Taylor Christiansen, Nashua High School North
  7. Joseph Dami, White Mountains Regional High School
  8. Emily Daniel, Franklin High School
  9. Alexander Evans, Bow High School
  10. Keith Fleming, Spaulding High School
  11. Nicole Foti, Berlin High School
  12. Levi Frye, Fall Mountain Regional High School
  13. Dominic Galluzzo, Londonderry High School
  14. Michaela Gennetti, Pinkerton Academy
  15. James Gonsalves, Portsmouth High School
  16. Naomi Houle, Salem High School
  17. Leah Johnson, Sanborn Regional High School
  18. Mitchell Jurius, Inter-Lakes High School
  19. Siobhan Kirwan, Gilford High School
  20. Mariah Lansdowne-Howard, Merrimack Valley High School
  21. Abigail Lore, Merrimack High School
  22. Chau Ngo, Manchester Central High School
  23. Brianna O'Brien, Winnacunnet High School
  24. Ashruti Patel, Nashua High School South
  25. Anna Ravenelle, Goffstown Regional High School
  26. Kaitlyn Ripaldi, Manchester Memorial High School
  27. Sylvia Romero, Winnisquam High School
  28. Christopher Shattuck, Stevens High School
  29. Shaun Shea, Prospect Mountain High School
  30. Lana Sommers, Exeter High School
  31. John Sullivan, Kennett High School
  32. Gabrielle Tetreault, Newfound Regional High School
  33. Anna Topping, ConVal Regional High School
  34. Leanna Travis, Lebanon High School
  35. Tiffany Winn, Keene High School    

In addition to celebrating the accomplishments of the 35 New Hampshire scholarship recipients, the Red Sox will also celebrate the Granite State during Sunday's game, which has been designated New Hampshire Day at Fenway Park presented by Bond Auto Parts. The pre-game ceremonies, including the National Anthem, the Ceremonial First Pitch, and video board features will all highlight the state of New Hampshire. Residents from the Webster House in Manchester, NH, a non-profit group home for children, will also be in attendance and meet a player before the game.