Ortiz's popup that dropped in right field was originally scored an error on right fielder Alex Rios by veteran official scorer Steve Weller. But it was overturned Wednesday after a review by MLB.
"I think it was a hit in the moment," said Red Sox manager John Farrell. "Upon further review, obviously, they change it. I think in the end, the right call has been had."
Ortiz came to bat with two outs in the bottom of the seventh inning. At that point, Darvish had retired 20 straight hitters. Ortiz hit a high pop into right field. Second baseman Rougned Odor, who was playing in shallow right field in a defensive shift, got under the ball as Rios started coming toward him.
Odor said later he thought he heard Rios call him off. Rios said he should have taken control. Instead, Rios backed off and Odor couldn't catch the ball as it dropped just beyond his glove. Odor did not touch the ball.
Weller cited Rule 10.12, which covers errors in the official scoring rules and includes the comment: "The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer's judgment, at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball."
Weller also asked Elias Sports Bureau for confirmation and received word that the call was correct. Ortiz and the Red Sox thought it was a hit, and they appealed the decision to Major League Baseball.
Darvish still took a no-hitter into the ninth inning, but Ortiz broke it up with a two-out single.
T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Postcards from Elysian Fields, and follow him on Twitter @Sullivan_Ranger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.Less